Internation travel, January 31: The hopes of the citizens washed away when the Indian government announced the extension of the banned international commercial flights till February 28. The information was given in a circular released by the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA).

However, the international travel ban was initially supposed to end on 31 January, that too, after a 10-months long gap. India is currently undertaking the air travel under Vande Bharat phases and bilateral air bubble arrangements which is till now signed with as many as 24 countries.

This list included names of countries like Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Canada, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Iraq, Japan, Kenya, Kuwait, Maldives, Nepal, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Qatar, Rwanda, Tanzania, Ukraine, the UAE, UK, and the US. In order to facilitate the air travel further amid the tensions, the government is most likely to sign more such mutually beneficial air bubble agreements with countries such as Sri Lanka, Saudi Arabia and Bangladesh in the coming weeks.

Also read: Thomas Cook India, SOTC Travel launches luxury cruise holidays to polar regions

The DGCA circular further stated that theInternational schedules flights might be allowed on a few selected routes approved by the competent authority based on a case to case basis. The civil aviation watchdog claimed that the air service going on under the air bubbles, specifically allowed by the civil aviation regulator will continue to operate.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *