June 15: Pakistan has brought strict travel restrictions in practice banning entry of travellers from 26 countries including India. The move came as a preventive measure for the country against Covid-19 and its spread. Travellers of these countries will only be allowed entry under specific guidelines drawn by the Covid management authority of the country.

Responsible to control the spread of the pandemic in Pakistan, the National Command and Operation Centre (NCOC) has revised the air and land travel categories with immediate effect. Here, India has been placed in the stringent C category.

As of the categories, countries placed in the A category will be exempted from the mandatory Covid-19 test, however, the ones falling in the B category will require a negative polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test that must be taken within 72 hours of their travel date. Countries placed in the C category will be restricted to travel to the country likewise India.

Also read: India asks China to allow Indian citizens into the country amid lowering Covid cases

Other than India, as reports have it, the countries having a place in the C category include Bangladesh, Iran, Indonesia, Bhutan, Nepal, Iraq, the Maldives, the Philippines, Sri Lanka, Brazil, Argentina, South Africa, Mexico, Chile, Tunisia, Bolivia, Columbia, Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, Paraguay, Ecuador, Paraguay, Namibia, Peru, Uruguay, Trinidab and Tobago.

Apart from the countries placed in the C category, the rest of the countries from the B category and those who have to visit these countries will also be required to present a negative PCR test result.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *